Amaravati Poetic Prism 2019 - International Multilingual Poets' Meet - 21 & 22 Dec 2019 @ Vijayawada

The  Cultural Centre of Vijayawada & Amaravati (CCVA), a CSR arm of the Malaxmi Group helmed by Mr. Y. Harish Chandra Prasad and Dr. Tejaswini Yarlagadda, and efficiently geared by Dr. Emani Sivanagi Reddy, Mr. Sandeep Mandava and Ms. Deepa Balasubramanian, the other CEOs of the Group and the entire team members of the Group, organized yet another edition of Amaravati Poetic Prism 2019 - 5th International Multilingual Poets' Meet at Vijayawada on 21 & 22 December, 2019 at Novotel Vijayawada, in the presence of over 125 poets from 10 countries.

The event was inaugurated by Shri Biswa Bhusan Harichandan, the Hon'ble Governor of Andhra Pradesh in the presence of such literary giants and our Distinguished Guests of Honour as Padma Vibhushan Dr. Sitakant Mahapatra (IAS (Retd., Jnanpith & Sahitya Akademi awardee, and renowned Odia and English poet, writer and literary critic), Padma Shri Dr. Vishnu Pandya (Chairman, Gujarat Sahitya Akademi, and renowned Gujarati poet & writer), Dr. D. Vizai Bhaskar (Sangeet Natak Akademi awardee, renowned Telugu playwright and poet, and former CEO, APCCC), Dr. N. Gopi (Sahitya Akademi awardee, renowned Telugu poet, writer and literary critic, and former VC, PS Telugu University), Dr. Papineni Sivasankar (Sahitya Akademi awardee and renowned Telugu poet, writer and literary critic), Dr. Venna Vallabha Rao (Sahitya Akademi Translation Award recipient and renowned Telugu and Hindi poet and translator) and Shri Shreekumar Varma (Recipient of R K Narayan Award and renowned English playwright and poet), that also saw the unveiling of our Amaravati Poetic Prism 2019, an international multilingual poetry anthology showcasing 1303 poems in 125 languages by over 761 poets from 86 countries, compiled and edited by Padmaja Iyengar-Paddy!

A very special highlight of this event was the Special Postal Cover to commemorate 'Amaravati Poetic Prism 2019' launched by the Posts & Telegraphs Department, Vijayawada.

The distinguished guests of honour Padma Vibhushan Dr. Sitakant Mahapatra ji, Padma Shri Dr. Vishnu Pandya ji, Dr. D. Vizai Bhaskar, Dr. N. Gopi, Dr. Papineni Sivasankar, and Shri Mukesh Kumar Meena, IAS & Secretaty to the Hon'ble Governor of Andhra Pradesh, read their poems from 'Amaravati Poetic Prism 2019' in the presence of the Hon'ble Governor. After the Hon'ble Governor's departure, the other Guests of Honour Dr. Venna Vallabha Rao, Shri Killada Satyanarayana, IPS, IG, PTO, and Shri Shreekumar Varma read their poems from 'Amaravati Poetic Prism 2019'.

Padmaja Iyengar 'Paddy'
The 2-day event saw poetry readings by 115 poet delegates representing 37 languages, comprising several Kendra Sahitya Akademi and State Sahitya Akademi awardees and other prestigious awards in languages like Santali, Bodo, Telugu, Tulu, Punjabi, Hindi, Urdu, Gujarati, etc. All the poet delegates had only good words for the event and the hospitality of CCVA, terming the event a “Huge success!”

Report filed by: Padmaja Iyengar-Paddy, poet, writer, reviewer and Editor of Amaravati Poetic Prism 2015 to 2019.

No comments :

Post a Comment

We welcome your comments related to the article and the topic being discussed. We expect the comments to be courteous, and respectful of the author and other commenters. Setu reserves the right to moderate, remove or reject comments that contain foul language, insult, hatred, personal information or indicate bad intention. The views expressed in comments reflect those of the commenter, not the official views of the Setu editorial board. प्रकाशित रचना से सम्बंधित शालीन सम्वाद का स्वागत है।