National Award for Anurag Sharma: A Brief Report

Huge congrats!
Big milestone!

Anurag Sharma, editor-in-chief and publisher of the monthly journal Setu has been awarded the prestigious Rashtriya Nirmal Verma Samman (National Nirmal Verma Award) for 2023.

Established in honor of the acclaimed Hindi author Nirmal Verma (April 3, 1929 - Oct 25, 2005) in 2015, this award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the development and promotion of Hindi language and literature.
The award carries a cash prize of ₹ 500,000 INR, a citation, a shawl, and a sacred fruit.

The list of awardees so far -
2023 Anurag Sharma (USA)
2022 Dr. Hansa Deep (Canada)
2021 Shikha Varshney (UK)
2019 Dr. Krishna Kumar (UK)
2018 Archana Painuly (Denmark)
2017 Dr. Ramprasad Bhatt (Germany)
2016 Tejendra Sharma (UK)
2015 Suresh Chandra Shukla (Norway)

Anurag Sharma was also awarded the Apravasi Hindi Sahitya Srijan Samman, First Edition in 2016. He is the first littérateur who received the highest literary awards given to diaspora authors of Indian origin from India and Mauritius.

Proud of you!
More to come.

Sunil Sharma
Managing Editor, Setu (English)


We welcome your comments related to the article and the topic being discussed. We expect the comments to be courteous, and respectful of the author and other commenters. Setu reserves the right to moderate, remove or reject comments that contain foul language, insult, hatred, personal information or indicate bad intention. The views expressed in comments reflect those of the commenter, not the official views of the Setu editorial board. प्रकाशित रचना से सम्बंधित शालीन सम्वाद का स्वागत है।